Thursday 24th October 2019, 7:30PM

2019 Frontline Club Awards

The Frontline Club Awards recognise journalists who have shown integrity, courage and independence of spirit in print, photojournalism and broadcast work. This year’s winners will be announced at the Frontline Club Awards Ceremony on Thursday 24 October 2019. The ceremony will be hosted by Elizabeth Palmer at CBS News, with keynote by award-winning Syrian journalist, Waad Al-Kateab.

Thursday May 9th 2019, 7:00 PM

Tim Hetherington Trust: Visionary Award 2019

Judith & Alistair Hetherington with Trustees of the Tim Hetherington Trust invite you to preview projects in current production by a new generation of photojournalists and documentary practitioners. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2019 Visionary Award.

Thursday 11th October 2018, 7:00 PM

Frontline Club Awards 2018

We are delighted to invite you to the Frontline Club Awards ceremony, an essential event celebrating our colleagues and peers for their integrity, courage and independent spirit.

Tuesday 28th November, 2017, 07:00 PM

Baillie Gifford Partner Event. What Makes a Great Author?

The Baillie Gifford (formerly Samuel Johnson Prize) is the most prestigious non-fiction literary prize in the UK. Join the prize’s board of judges who share their process to pick this year’s winner (announced Nov 16th) and what, in their opinion, makes a truly great writer.

Thursday 20 April 2017, 7:00 PM

Tim Hetherington 2017 Visionary Award: Making Big History in Small Stories

The Hetherington family and the Tim Hetherington Trust invite friends, colleagues and everyone interested in Tim’s extraordinary life to spend an evening at The Frontline Club exploring his dynamic legacy through the work of artists and journalists who continue to expand his innovative approach to visual media. The evening will introduce new work by some familiar friends, as well as some hitherto unknown voices who are bringing fresh energy to today’s media.

February 19, 2016

Documentary Shorts: Methods and Inspiration

A panel of experienced filmmakers came together at the Frontline Club on Monday 15 February to give an insight into their creative processes when making short documentary films. The panel consisted of award-winning filmmakers Liam Saint-Pierre, Chloe White, Marc Silver, and Gemma Atkinson, with documentary programmer and DocHouse producer Jenny Horwell moderating the discussion. 

October 26, 2012

Images of the Frontline Club Awards 2012

The Frontline Club Awards were presented by Jon Snow on 25th October 2012 at the Frontline Club. A keynote speech from judge Jon Lee Anderson was followed by the presentation of the Awards.

October 26, 2012

Announcing the winners of the Frontline Club Awards 2012

The Frontline Club Awards for excellence in journalism were presented at the Frontline Club in London last night. Judged by seasoned journalism practitioners, the Presenter of the Awards, Channel 4 News’ Jon Snow, described the Frontline Club Awards as “given by the best, to the best”.

October 25, 2012 7:00 PM

FULLY BOOKED The Frontline Club Awards 2012

The Frontline Club Awards are presented annually in recognition of the most outstanding journalism seen over a one year period. They aim to reward independence of spirit, courage and the highest standards in journalism. The shortlist contains some of the year’s best journalism. After dinner and a drinks reception, speeches from judges Vaughan Smith and Jon Lee Anderson will be followed by the presentation of the Awards by Channel 4 News presenter Jon Snow.

August 20, 2012

Calling all Members: Nominate Winners for the Frontline Club Awards 2012

The Frontline Club Awards for excellence in journalism aim to recognise recognise journalistic integrity, courage and the independence of spirit. For the first time the Frontline Club Awards will be divided into four categories: Print | Broadcast | Photojournalism | Tribute.
Now is your opportunity to nominate the best journalism you have seen this year in each of these categories. Nominations should be sent to [email protected] by Friday 21st September 2012.

November 22, 2011

Announcing the winners of the Frontline Club journalism awards 2011

The Frontline Club has announced the winners of the Frontline Club Award and the Frontline Memorial Tribute Award for excellence in journalism, to be presented by Allan Little on Wednesday 23 November at the Annual Party and Awards.

October 18, 2010

Frontline Awards 2009

Ahead of this year’s Frontline Awards on 25 November here is a quick recap of last year’s winners. Lasantha Wickrematunge, the editor in chief of the Sri Lankan newspaper The Sunday Leader who was murdered on 8 January 2009 was posthumous awarded the Frontline Memorial Award. Wickrematunge was one of Sri Lanka’s most courageous and […]

May 4, 2010

Orwell Prize event: read our profiles of Peter Hitchens, Amelia Gentleman and John Arlidge

The annual Orwell Prize rewards journalists who most closely follow George Orwell’s aim of making “political writing into an art”. And it’s that art we’ll be celebrating on Wednesday 12 May at an exclusive panel discussion with three writers shortlisted for this year’s prize. Here we look at the life and work of our special […]

February 18, 2009

Photography’s new frontlines

Quietly, over the past 12 months, the "frontline" in photojournalism has come back home to the West. Whereas the years since 9/11 saw the world go to war – with the journalists and photographers not far behind – now, in one way or another, the war is coming to us. Take the World Press Photo […]