journalism awards

Thursday 2nd November 2017, 8:00 PM

Frontline Club Awards 2017

We are delighted to invite you to the Frontline Club Awards ceremony, an essential event celebrating our colleagues and peers for their integrity, courage and independent spirit. We are honoured to have the keynote speech this year delivered by Peter Bouckaert, Emergencies Director at Human Rights Watch.

October 26, 2012

Images of the Frontline Club Awards 2012

The Frontline Club Awards were presented by Jon Snow on 25th October 2012 at the Frontline Club. A keynote speech from judge Jon Lee Anderson was followed by the presentation of the Awards.

October 11, 2012

Prize Draw at the Frontline Club Awards 2012

Fancy a brand new iPhone 5? Or £500 to spend on luxury accommodation in New York or London with onefinestay? How about a photographic print from one of the esteemed photojournalists of VII Photo or credit to spend at Metro Imaging on your own prints? Have a browse through our Prize Draw prizes below to whet your appetite for the upcoming Frontline Club Awards on 25th October.

October 10, 2012

Announcing the Frontline Club Awards 2012 shortlist

The shortlist for the Frontline Club Awards has been selected from nominations put forward by Frontline Club members, which included some excellent work from the past year in three categories: Broadcast, Photojournalism and Print. Five nominees, not listed here, are also being considered for the Frontline Club Tribute Award for their contribution to journalism and lifetime achievements.

August 9, 2011

The Frontline Club Award and the Frontline Memorial Tribute Award for excellence in journalism.

The Frontline Club Award and the Frontline Memorial Tribute Award for excellence in journalism aim to recognise recognise journalistic integrity, courage and the independence of spirit, regardless of nationality or media discipline and include the work of freelances. The Frontline Club Award is given annually in recognition of an outstanding body of work or series of contributions […]

April 7, 2009

Slain Sri Lankan editor wins World Press Freedom Prize 2009

Lasantha Wickrematunge, the editor of the Sunday Leader newspaper in Sri Lanka who was assassinated in January 2009, has been named laureate of the 2009 UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize, “Jury members were moved to an almost unanimous choice by a man who was clearly conscious of the dangers he faced but nevertheless chose to […]

March 31, 2009

Dan McDougall foreign reporter of the year

Dan McDougall, a freelance foreign correspondent with The Observer newspaper among others, has been named as foreign reporter of the year at the British Press Awards 2009 being held tonight in London. Dan was shortlisted for the award in 2008, but has triumphed tonight. The Guardian’s Oliver Luft is at the event, 10.25pm: They’re all […]

November 28, 2008

Going live… Frontline Club Journalism Awards 2008

Click To Play We’re just going live right now with the Frontline Club Journalism Awards and the annual party. The club is now five years old. And it looks like Vaughan is relating the history of the club right now. Hope you come and join us… UPDATE: In the video above you can see Frontline […]

June 20, 2008

Frontline Journalism Awards tonight

Webcam chat at Ustream John D. McHugh will talk about his work as he accepts the inaugural Frontline Journalism Award at the Frontline Club tonight. Brent Stirton will also receive the inaugural Frontline Memorial Tribute. Please tune in to our live stream channel to watch and listen to John in conversation with Jon Lee Anderson […]

May 9, 2008

Frontline Club Journalism Awards 2007

Right from the very beginning the Frontline Club broke all conventions. From cameraman Vaughan Smith’s late 80’s visions of flying over the Afghan frontline in a Microlite to shacking up in Osama Bin Laden’s residence in Kabul. The founders of the Frontline Club didn’t just shirk convention, they booted it out the door. With those […]

May 1, 2007

The Orwell Prize 2007

This year’s Orwell Prize, held last Tuesday night at the Frontline Club, reeked of the welcome stench of real reporting – a celebration of journalists and writers who work “from the ground up”, in Martha Gellhorn’s famous phrase. George Orwell would surely have been pleased that his eponymous prize for journalism went to Peter Beaumont, […]