Orwell prize

Thursday 23 October 2014, 6:00 PM

The Orwell Prize 2015 Launch Debate: What Makes a Political Life?

Winner of the Orwell Prize for Books 2014, Alan Johnson MP will be in conversation with David Davis MP about how politics can shape lives, and how personal histories can shape one’s political values. The debate will be chaired by the director of the Orwell Prize, Professor Jean Seaton.

May 4, 2010

Orwell Prize event: read our profiles of Peter Hitchens, Amelia Gentleman and John Arlidge

The annual Orwell Prize rewards journalists who most closely follow George Orwell’s aim of making “political writing into an art”. And it’s that art we’ll be celebrating on Wednesday 12 May at an exclusive panel discussion with three writers shortlisted for this year’s prize. Here we look at the life and work of our special […]

May 1, 2007

The Orwell Prize 2007

This year’s Orwell Prize, held last Tuesday night at the Frontline Club, reeked of the welcome stench of real reporting – a celebration of journalists and writers who work “from the ground up”, in Martha Gellhorn’s famous phrase. George Orwell would surely have been pleased that his eponymous prize for journalism went to Peter Beaumont, […]