Important Dates 2019

  • 11 July: Submissions Open
  • 2 September: Submissions Close
  • 7 October: Shortlist Announced
  • 24 October: Awards Ceremony

Our distinguished panel of judges for 2019 include:


Shahidul Alam, Photographer and Activist

Jon Lee Anderson, Staff Writer at The New Yorker

Jeremy Bowen, BBC Middle East editor

Carole Cadwalladr, Investigative Journalist and Features Writer for The Observer

Patrick Cockburn, Middle East correspondent at The Independent

Yousra Elbagir, Foreign Affairs Correspondent for Channel 4 News

Carlotta Gall, Istanbul Bureau Chief for The New York Times

Tom Giles, Controller of Current Affairs, ITV

Gary Knight, photographer and a co-founder and director of the VII Photo Agency

David Loyn, author and BBC Afghanistan correspondent

Santiago Lyon, Photojournalist and Director of Editorial Content at Adobe

Andrew Marshall, Special Correspondent for Reuters

Ramita Navai, Foreign Affairs Journalist, Documentary Producer and Author

Vaughan Smith, founder of the Frontline Club and independent cameraman

Nicole Tung, Freelance Photographer