Daniel Pearl finalists announced

The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists announced the finalists for the first “Daniel Pearl Award for Outstanding International Investigative Reporting” today. Five judges selected finalists from a rosta of “86 entries from 24 countries, involving reporting in more than 60 countries during 2006 and 2007” The finalists are,

Michael Kranish, Peter S. Canellos, Farah Stockman, Kevin Baron, Susan Milligan, Rick Klein, and Charlie Savage of The Boston Globe for their series “Exporting Faith.”
Walt Bogdanich and Jake Hooker of The New York Times for their series “A Toxic Pipeline.”
Joachim Dyfvermark and Fredrik Laurin for their TV4 Sweden investigation The Illegal Cod.”
Loretta Tofani for her Salt Lake Tribune series “American Imports, Chinese Deaths.”
Andrew O. Selsky of The Associated Press for “Guantanamo Detainees.”
Sven Bergman, Joachim Dyfvermark, and Fredrik Laurin for their SVT –Swedish Television investigation Gripen — the Secret Deals.”
Gregory L. White, David Crawford, Glenn R. Simpson, Alan Cullison, and James Bandler of The Wall Street Journal for their investigation “Putin’s Russia.” link