CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2008 finalists announced

The finalists in the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2008 Competition were announced today. The competition is in its 13th year. The winners will be anounced in Accra, Ghana on 19 July,

Announcing the finalists, Azubuike Ishiekwene said: “”I have followed the CNN MultiChoice Awards for the past four years and watched them grow steadily to become the gold standard of excellence in journalism awards on the African continent, especially for young professionals who want to make a difference. Increasingly, the entries are speaking to the continent’s needs, and the echoes are far-reaching.” link

The full list of 23 finalists representing 14 countries reads as follows. I’ve added links where possible.

Lucas Ajanaku, TELL Magazine, Nigeria
Barbara Angopa, NTV, Uganda
Deji Badmus, Channels Television, Nigeria
Marjorie Copeland, Freelance for Marie Claire, South Africa
Kennedy Gondwe, Freelance for Hone FM, Zambia
John Grobler, Freelance for The Namibian, Namibia
Israel Laryea, Joy FM, Ghana
Fernando Lima, Jornal Savana, Mozambique
Emmanuel Mayah, Sun Newspaper, Nigeria
Mwondoshah Mfanga, The Guardian, Tanzania
Richard Mgamba, Sunday Citizen Newspaper, Tanzania
Peter Moyo,, South Africa
Bamuturaki Musinguzi, The EastAfrican Newspaper, Uganda
Mutwiri Mutuota, Kenya Times, Kenya
Boniface Mwangi, The Standard , Kenya
Koumouréoua Issa Napon, Radio Télévision du Burkina, Burkina Faso
Evaline Ngono, Cameroun Radio Télévision, Cameroun
Daniel Nkrumah, Daily Graphic, Ghana
Godwin Nnanna, BusinessDay, Nigeria
Nassima Oulebsir, Le Jeune Indépendant, Algeria
Hopewell Rugoho-Chin’ono, Television International, for Zimbabwe Broadcasting Corporation, Zimbabwe
Seyoum Tsehaye, Eritrea
Sasha Wales-Smith, Special Assignment, SABC, South Africa link